spacer.png, 0 kB
HOME
MANGALAWIKI
FORUM
2312 interviews & reviews PDF Print E-mail
Written by Kimon   
Tuesday, 22 May 2012 21:08

2312 is out, and of course Kim Stanley Robinson is out there to promote it (check calendar on the left).

 


 

Robinson was interviewed by Space.com: Part 1 (Terraforming the Solar System) and Part 2 (The Future in 2312). Terraforming, public vs private space exploration, Mondragon, genders and body modifications, it's all here.

[2312 is] far enough out that it gives you time to think about the differences between now and 1712, if you run it in the other direction.

Robinson also reacts in another Space.com article on space exploration and science fiction.

"Beyond the solar system' is too far away. [...] It's a joke and a waste of time to think about starships or inhabiting the galaxy. It's a systemic lie that science fiction tells the world that the galaxy is within our reach."

Head over to Wired.com and their podcast Storyboard for an hour-long interview with Robinson! Hear about 2312, time travel, Antarctica and the future of humanity in Storyboard 82 (direct mp3 download here).

Robinson was also interviewed by SciFiNow and provides many insights in the thinking that went behind 2312. Excerpts:

 

The idea that sparked it had to do with the central story, a romance between two people, one from Mercury, the other from Saturn (with matching personality traits). I needed a solar system-wide culture to make it possible for people to be living in those two places, and it grew from there.

What do you model your future society’s on in 2312? Is there a base coat that we can find on Earth today?

China, the West, the under-developed world, vampire capitalism, alternative economies like that in Mondragon, Spain, technological advances and environmental damage, the uneasy mix of hope and fear, utopia and catastrophe—all these are already here, and in the case of this book, being displayed as if from three hundred years further on.

[...]

I am mostly at ease with being thought of as political. Science fiction, by postulating future histories, always contains theories of history and theories of human nature, so political philosophy is simply part of the genre. Ignoring that, or pretending that you can dodge that, is to try to reduce science fiction to nothing more than a game. But as fun as it is, science fiction can be so much more than a game.

 


And of course, the reviews are coming! Apart from a review in Locus Magazine, several have appeared online.

SF Signal:

2312 is a thoughtful read, and I’m glad that I took my time while I read it. While slow and ponderous, I found myself struck by the concepts that Robinson was pushing forward, scientifically, and socially. This novel takes space opera and makes it truly epic in a way that I really haven’t read in a while, and imparts a sense of wonder in our surroundings that made this a very good read.

Wall Street Journal:

The real hero of "2312" is human enterprise. There are so many things we could do! Jog round Mercury like the rolling city, dawn always coming up behind you. Use orbiting mirrors to burn the canals back into the surface of Mars and make the Ray Bradbury images come true. Create giant artworks on the surface of Jovian moons. One thing we can't do, in Mr. Robinson's view, echoing Arthur Clarke's, is go star-traveling; even the nearest stars are out of our reach. The solar system is what we've got, and we need to do better with it than we have done with Earth.

The Wertzone:

2312 is Kim Stanley Robinson's first widescreen, big-budget, blockbuster SF novel in some considerable time.

Little Red Reviewer:

Existentially sprawling, and scientifically fascinating yet completely accessible,  I’m reluctant to categorize 2312 as science fiction.


(Pictured above: land art by Andy Goldsworthy, photo by the CASS Sculpture Foundation; Goldsworthy is an influence in the world of 2312)

Comments
Add New Search
+/-
Write comment
Name:
Email:
 
Website:
Title:
UBBCode:
[b] [i] [u] [url] [quote] [code] [img] 
 
 
:D:):(:0:shock::confused:8):lol::x:P:oops::cry:
:evil::twisted::roll::wink::!::?::idea::arrow:
 
Please input the anti-spam code that you can read in the image.
Rod Hall  - Dr. |2012-08-10 20:23:53
Kim, I just set your latest novel aside around page 98... Your main character, Swan, is not loveable by anyone in any way... What a sorry ass little *un.. Self absorbed... only half human... Who could care about this... er... person... totally withdrawn into herself and her grieving over het grandmom..mom... I could not, and laid your novel aside... You're a brilliant hard sci fi writer.. you get the science write.. but if you thik "Swan" is a character anyone could care about.. and fail to loathe... you're autistic... Last novel I set aside becauee I just COULD NOT find a protagonist... a character I did not despise, was George Elliot's *Daniel Deronda*... Samee deal... self absorbed, nasty little bitch! Just could nor read past circa page 98... Let off hoping Swan died a miserable death... Jovian radiation or something... Seriously sad, this bitch.. why did you create her, and why did you think anyone could give a rat's ass about her and read beyond page.. what was it?...
Kathy Mansfield  - Marina Svetaeva |2012-10-25 09:49:32
I have read many blogs and found good and informatics but this blog has simply thrill me with it designs, colour combination and the most important thing real information. I
Irina Hazel  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-01-16 07:49:36
Scary now i will never ever get 1 all over again
football world cup 2014 qualif  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-02-08 15:28:09
Don't know whether it is just a bug with my browser, safari installation, or with this article but this complete page displays all muddled up for me. Think I'll load another browser & look if that fixes it. Marty Harstad in Anlu
story  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-02-11 09:48:17
Its great as your other content : D, thanks for putting up. "It takes less time to do things right than to explain why you did it wrong." by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow.
resources  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-02-16 01:39:14
Thanks for the tips about credit repair on all of this web-site. A few things i would advice people is always to give up the actual mentality that they can buy right now and pay back later. Being a society most of us tend to try this for many things. This includes trips, furniture, plus items we would like. However, you must separate your wants from the needs. When you're working to fix your credit score you have to make some trade-offs. For example it is possible to shop online to economize or you can visit second hand retailers instead of pricey department stores with regard to clothing.
E liquids  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-02-23 08:23:52
Organic and natural Treatment options In the direction of Very clear Up Your Eczema Eczema is a pores and skin circumstance wherever patches of dry pores and skin produce owing in direction of allergic reactions or aggravation Some folks attain very little patches in this article and there other individuals get hold of further more major breakthroughs Small children are unbelievably Grind -tablespoon turmeric together with tablespoon of neem leaves Put into action - instances everyday upon the influenced parts Put into practice a teaspoon of sandalwood paste combined with a teaspoon of camphor in the direction of the influenced Place It is made up of a cooling impact E cig wholesale Electronic cigarette
soccer fifa world cup  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-02-24 10:33:46
In open up engage in you have manage of every participant routinely switching to the participant nearest the ball. The controls on this sport are extremely responsive and may possibly just take a although to get utilised to, you can also customize the button layout for particular steps. Each button on the manage pad is utilised, and some motion will require to push 1 button whilst holding down an additional. By employing the two button manage established-up you only require to press one particular button for passing and a various one particular for taking pictures, even though this tends to make the match easier to use you do not have the noticed manage as with the standard setups.|FIFPro secretary general Theo van Seggelen in September said football stakeholders must be far more worried by potential heat issues at next year’s World Cup, with Qatar’s 2022 match at the moment at the centre of debate. The world players’ union believes the furore surrounding Qatar 2022 is placing much ...
Nona Ienco  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-02-27 23:20:16
Well I truly enjoyed studying it. This article provided by you is very constructive for correct planning.
Aida  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-03-01 03:04:12
Great contribution love your blog, hopefully I'll be back.
you can try this out  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-03-04 18:25:01
Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was looking for!
this girl  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-03-06 02:15:45
hi!,I love your writing very much! percentage we be in contact extra about your article on AOL? I require an expert on this area to resolve my problem. May be that is you! Having a look ahead to peer you.
Lyman Bracetty  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-03-09 15:15:51
Great site! I am loving it!! Will be back later to read some more. I am bookmarking your feeds also
visit here  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-03-09 20:21:11
I am not rattling wonderful with English but I line up this very leisurely to understand.
look at more info  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-03-10 05:05:04
excellent issues altogether, you just gained a new reader. What would you recommend about your put up that you simply made some days ago? Any sure?
extra resources  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-03-10 22:13:21
I like this post, enjoyed this one thanks for posting. "The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits." by Albert Einstein.
yingzijun  - http://www.louisvuittonoutlet-high.com |2014-03-11 07:09:16
supra footwear
ray ban
Celine Outlet Store
louis vuitton outlet
christian louboutin sale
true religion
timberland earthkeepers
celine outlet
tiffany
fendi bags
gucci handbags
ray ban sunglasses
air jordan 4
nike shoes
true religion jeans
red buttom shoes
prada
louis vuitton
dior handbags
ghd hair iron
ralph lauren outlet
ghd hair iron
oakley sunglasses outlet
hollister clothing
true religion
monster headphones
belstaff jackets
tory burch
fendi outlet
prada handbags
ghd flat iron
tiffany jewelry
timberland
coach store online
canada goose jackets
alexander wang
givenchy handbags
dolce gabbana
true religion jeans
prada handbags
north face outlet
abercrombie & fitch outlet
nfl football jerseys
jimmy choo outlet
true religion
goose outlet
insanity
barbour clothing
louis vuitton handbags
cheap nfl jerseys
belstaff clothing
ray ban
ghd hair iron
abercrombie and fitch
celine outlet
air jordan
jimmy choo sale
abercrombie & fitch outlet
p90x workout
ugg boots
versace shirts
MontBlanc Pens
mic...
browse this site  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-03-11 18:13:13
Only a smiling visitant here to share the love (:, btw outstanding style and design .
click to investigate  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-03-12 19:20:01
you are truly a excellent webmaster. The web site loading velocity is amazing. It sort of feels that you're doing any unique trick. Also, The contents are masterpiece. you've done a excellent job on this matter!
website  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-03-13 02:27:31
Wohh precisely what I was searching for, thank you for putting up.
look at this now  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-03-14 05:04:19
Thank you, I have just been looking for information approximately this topic for a while and yours is the best I have found out so far. But, what about the bottom line? Are you positive concerning the source?
visit this site  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-03-15 03:24:21
You have noted very interesting points! ps decent web site.
Chat  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-03-16 11:46:38
Really nice design and style and great content material, very little else we require :D.
see this site  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-03-24 20:05:21
excellent issues altogether, you just gained a logo new reader. What might you recommend in regards to your submit that you simply made a few days in the past? Any positive?
find  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-03-25 17:50:21
Wohh precisely what I was looking for, regards for putting up.
how you can help  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-03-29 20:31:41
It's in reality a great and useful piece of info. I'm satisfied that you simply shared this useful information with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.
joke resource  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-03-30 13:33:52
I always was interested in this subject and stock still am, thank you for posting.
sony handycam dcr-dvd205e  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-03-31 07:23:13
Lets talk about this, it's an intresting theme
bmw 745i exhaust manifold  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-03-31 14:47:30
Hello, I can talk a lot about... very good theme
additional hints  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-03-31 18:26:16
naturally like your web-site however you have to check the spelling on quite a few of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling issues and I in finding it very bothersome to tell the reality then again I will certainly come back again.
sony dcr-hc26e ucb драйвер ма  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-03-31 19:18:29
Can I give you a donate for future posting?
home  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-04-01 12:32:39
Appreciate it for helping out, superb information.
click for more info  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-04-01 15:44:57
Very interesting details you have noted, regards for posting.
sony hdr-hc3 sony hdr-hc1 hdv  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-04-02 20:35:54
Reading your post & thinking...oh my god, thats right
bbk dv316si не  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-04-03 06:59:37
Hey, I like this post. I think the same.
I loved this  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-04-06 00:15:25
Great
bbk motorsports  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-04-07 05:06:54
Hello, I can talk a lot about... very good theme
http://adamprivatebox.net16.ne  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-04-07 18:13:43
Spot on with this write-up, I actually suppose this web site needs much more consideration. I
bbh singapore office  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-04-09 15:49:15
Hello, I can talk a lot about... very good theme
look at this web-site  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-04-09 16:16:58
Real excellent info can be found on blog .
acne no more  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-04-10 19:29:56
You made some decent factors there. I regarded on the web for the issue and found most people will associate with together with your website.
Mamie  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-04-10 20:16:17
Thanks for your input, it help me profoundly
what its worth  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-04-11 03:10:34
I have been absent for a while, but now I remember why I used to love this web site. Thank you, I will try and check back more frequently. How frequently you update your site?
chat line  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-04-14 11:00:16
Merely wanna input on few general things, The website layout is perfect, the articles is very excellent. "By following the concept of 'one country, two systems,' you don't swallow me up nor I you." by Deng Xiaoping.
pop over here  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-04-16 15:18:07
Thank you for sharing excellent informations. Your site is very cool. I'm impressed by the details that you've on this website. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this web page, will come back for more articles. You, my friend, ROCK! I found simply the info I already searched everywhere and simply couldn't come across. What a perfect site.
see  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-04-19 01:40:09
Wohh just what I was looking for, regards for putting up.
top article  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-04-19 03:12:53
I always was interested in this subject and stock still am, regards for posting.
official homepage  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-04-21 08:07:36
Thanks for the auspicious writeup. It actually used to be a amusement account it. Look complex to far brought agreeable from you! By the way, how can we communicate?
InMotion Hosting Review  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-04-23 09:50:04
depicted this information is very good in my opinion since I actually have mastered one thing quite new from here.
check these guys out  - 2312 interviews & reviews - KimStanleyRobinson |2014-04-23 11:53:37
Some really superb info , Glad I found this. "As long as a word remains unspoken, you are it's master once you utter it, you are it's slave." by Solomon Ibn Gabirol.
 
spacer.png, 0 kB
spacer.png, 0 kB