spacer.png, 0 kB
HOME
MANGALAWIKI
FORUM
2312 interviews & reviews II PDF Print E-mail
Written by Kimon   
Sunday, 03 June 2012 20:11

2312 press continues full speed!

As always, check out the calendar on the left for KSR readings, panels, events, in the USA and in the UK.

The Planetary Society's Planetary Radio podcast interviewed Robinson (direct mp3 link), among recent exciting space-related activity such as the Space X Dragon launch and an appropriately 2312-themed video of Satrun's rings.

Continuing with the interviews, the SF Site interviewed Robinson. Excerpt:

[I]t is an open question whether the space project could be a significant help to humanity in trying to get into balance with the biophysical realities on Earth. I don't think we know the answer to this question, and it won't be easy to answer it without continuing to try to go into space usefully, and see what happens. [...] But no matter what we do in space, Earth will remain at the center of the human story. That's one of the things 2312 tries to say. But mostly the book is asking questions. It's not really saying "this could be," but rather, "could this be?" I think it may be that human civilization is so big and various that different things might happen in different parts of it, and advances in some areas occur despite massive problems elsewhere. But this is mainly a question to be asked; is that possible? Could we bootstrap our way out of some of our problems while they are still vexing us?

SF writer John Scalzi features a short interview with Robinson on his blog. Excerpt:

I was forced to use the Kitchen Sink Theory of Novel Construction—again, of course—indeed, more than ever—but it was necessary, because the future is going to be a wild place, a recombinant multiplicity of clashing elements, a real mess. To do justice to realism these days, the kitchen sink is really nowhere near the end of what needs to get tossed into the mix.

Also, a great hour-long panel with Robinson from last November found its way on YouTube here. Stan discusses "Valuing the Earth and Future Generations: Imagining Post-Capitalism" at the Center for Values in University of Texas at Dallas.

 

2312 features, among many other systems, an economy that is aided by computers to tune demand with supply. It's interesting to read Stan write about Francis Spufford's recent SF novel Red Plenty, a novel that has had trouble getting categorized as fiction in bookstore (I personally encountered it in the 'History' shelves!).


According to Publishers Weekly, 2312 seems to be doing good at sales!

Reviews also have been pouring in!

Locus (by Gary K. Wolfe):

2312 is as flat-out a celebration of the possibilities of SF as I’ve seen in years, not only in terms of classic space adventure [...], but in terms of gender evolution, quantum computing and artificial intelligence [...], and ecological catastrophe [...]. Robinson takes on so much information here, and so many techniques, that the novel sometimes seems on the verge of flying apart from its own imaginative momentum, but it’s something of a wonder to watch Robinson pull in all the kites in the end. Readers who want only the clean narrative arc of the planet-saving space opera that anchors the narrative might find a good two-thirds of the novel a distraction, but for the rest of us it’s a catalog of wonders.

Tor.com (Stefan Raets):

Remember that U2 song “Tryin’ to Throw Your Arms around the World” from Achtung Baby? 2312 feels like Kim Stanley Robinson trying to throw his arms around the solar system, bringing the intimately personal sphere into the system-wide one, and vice versa. The result is easily one of the best science fiction novels of the year so far: a challenging, sprawling, multi-layered story that will provide food for thought long after you turn the final page.

Slate.com:

Kim Stanley Robinson, whose new novel, 2312 , is his boldest trip into all of the marvelous SF genres—ethnography, future shock, screed against capitalism, road to earth—and all of the ways to thrill and be thrilled. It's a future history that's so secure and comprehensive that it reads as an account of the past—a trick of craft that belongs almost exclusively to the supreme SF task force of Le Guin and Margaret Atwood.

Huffington Post:

His new book 2312 is bursting with so many ideas and vivid characters that readers will be almost upset to hear it's a stand-alone. How could anyone create such a vivid, believable, mind-bursting future and not want to explore it further?

And also reviews in Fantasy Fiction, Tzer Island and USA Character Approved.

 


Finally, a funny bit of trivia: the Linux Mint 13 has been named "Maya", in part in reference to Maya Toitovna!

(Pictured above: Saturn and some of its moons, from APOD)

 

Comments
Add New Search
+/-
Write comment
Name:
Email:
 
Website:
Title:
UBBCode:
[b] [i] [u] [url] [quote] [code] [img] 
 
 
:D:):(:0:shock::confused:8):lol::x:P:oops::cry:
:evil::twisted::roll::wink::!::?::idea::arrow:
 
Please input the anti-spam code that you can read in the image.
Dick Rusen  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-05-30 14:58:31
Surprisingly challenging many thanks, I do believe your trusty subscribers could perhaps want even more stories like this keep up the wonderful operate.
Kennith Kottenstette  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-05-30 18:16:18
excellent app thanks for sharing
Cassey Ferman  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-04 01:21:30
I have been reading out many of your articles and i must say pretty clever stuff. I will definitely bookmark your site.
Jana Schamel  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-04 01:43:06
Keep functioning ,great job!
iPhone Unlock Spain  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-04 06:25:48
It's sods law isn't it - spending hours searching for something, only to discover a site like yours that gives you all the info in one place that you've just wasted hours looking for! The way you have composed this page is both articulate and informative simultaneously. That's quite an accomplishment, given the subject written about. I like to try and learn something new everyday, and this article most definitely enlightened me. Thank you so much for taking the time to post this. I have placed a link to this page from my Facebook account, I hope that's OK?
Learn English  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-04 07:49:01
Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it's truly informative. I
Language  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-04 22:01:40
Simply wish to say your article is as amazing. The clarity in your post is just nice and i could assume you're an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please continue the enjoyable work.
English Language  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-05 06:22:24
Nice blog here! Also your site loads up fast! What host are you using? Can I get your affiliate link to your host? I wish my site loaded up as quickly as yours lol
Attorney  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-06 08:18:51
Simply wanna remark that you have a very decent internet site , I love the pattern it really stands out.
Power of Attorney Form  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-06 14:05:10
Hey, you used to write magnificent, but the last few posts have been kinda boring
Naomi Blann  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-06 21:42:12
I am really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one today..
Fernando Sedtal  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-07 19:59:20
I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and check again here frequently. I'm quite sure I will learn many new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!
Pok Schiffman  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-07 23:09:12
Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with a few pics to drive the message home a bit, but instead of that, this is wonderful blog. An excellent read. I'll definitely be back.
Demetria Watling  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-08 00:18:00
great submit, very informative. I ponder why the opposite specialists of this sector do not realize this. You must continue your writing. I am sure, you have a huge readers' base already!
Bridgette Hoock  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-08 02:16:48
Definitely believe that which you said. Your favorite justification appeared to be on the internet the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get irked while people think about worries that they just do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks
Real Estate Websites  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-09 23:21:52
Hello very cool web site!! Man .. Excellent .. Wonderful .. I'll bookmark your site and take the feeds also
Real Estate License  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-10 07:02:26
I like what you guys are up too. Such clever work and reporting! Carry on the excellent works guys I've incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it'll improve the value of my web site :).
sfdgssfgbs  - tory burch outlet |2014-06-11 09:32:40
coach factory
cheap oakley
louis vuitton
michael kors
oakley sunglasses
coach factory outlet
christian louboutin outlet
belstaff jackets
kate spade outlet
alexander wang
p90x workouts
gucci shoes
toms outlet
oakley sunglasses outlet
cheap oakley
celine outlet
coach factory outlet
cheap ray ban sunglasses
oakley sunglasses
polo ralph lauren
cheap jordans shoes
coach factory
coach factory outlet online
bottega veneta
coach factory outlet
louis vuitton handbags
jordan retro 11
cheap oakleys
michael kors factory outlet
michael kors outlet
tory burch shoes
louis vuitton outlet
coach factory outlet online
oakley sunglasses outlet
cheap jordans
coach factory outlet online
red bottom shoes
ray ban sunglasses
louis vuitton outlet
cheap oakleys
coach outlet
tiffany and co
coach outlet
insanity workouts
louis vuitton outlet online
barbour outlet
coach purses
nike outlet
fitflop shoes
coach factory outlet
chanel outlet
louis vuitton
cheap jordan shoes
burberry outlet
hermes birkin
nike free run
cheap jersey...
Term Life Insurance  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-11 10:37:56
You are my intake , I possess few blogs and sometimes run out from to post .
Life Insurance  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-11 19:40:18
Hi there very nice web site!! Man .. Excellent .. Wonderful .. I'll bookmark your website and take the feeds additionally
Michael Jennings  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-11 21:30:33
some truly good information, Glad I discovered this.
Britany Genz  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-17 22:45:14
There are certainly a lot of details like that to take into consideration. That is a great point to bring up. I offer the thoughts above as general inspiration but clearly there are questions like the one you bring up where the most important thing will be working in honest good faith. I don?t know if best practices have emerged around things like that, but I am sure that your job is clearly identified as a fair game. Both boys and girls feel the impact of just a moment
Bedemand Sveb  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-18 03:29:45
Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it's really informative. I?m gonna watch out for brussels. I?ll be grateful if you continue this in future.
Begravelse Sj  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-18 10:48:48
Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I?ll certainly comeback.
Connie Cundick  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-27 04:38:20
I regard something truly interesting about your website so I saved to my bookmarks .
John Aldi  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-27 21:01:03
I think this is among the most significant info for me. And i'm glad reading your article. But want to remark on some general things, The website style is ideal, the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers
Chanel Outlet  - Chanel Outlet |2014-07-02 09:36:19
Baratheon he'd known andloved. He, Lannisters to prove that it was behind the attack on Blanc, if you can prove that the hadmurdered John Arryn, this person is me
could not speak. LV Purses His face is dark, angry, strodeback, round and round, he strode across the 10 tons. He threw atBarristan Selmy it with unexpressed louis vuitton anger when robbed
has always been Louis vuitton Outlet very poor, and after my father Louis Vuitton Handbags died, we were poor. In winter, Louis Vuitton Outlet Store I was often sick and I kate spade new york was always cold and hungry. In coach outlet the summer, I was sometimes wrong Louis Vuitton Bags
Spring 1634 arrives, but in the LV outlet prison of Lancaster Castle remains cold.The Kate Spade New York twenty women in prison are dirty, Michael Kors hungry and cold. There are no coach outlet online store beds or chairs, and they
Have LV Bags you never seen a boy of barbour factory store Mace Tyrell you? TheKnight of flowers, Micha...
Chanel Bags |2014-07-05 01:13:46
H?lle zu verstecken , bis Ma ins Bett gegangen ist . " " ! Ich mag Cathleen und sie ist Spa? und ich m?chte ¨¹ber Caro Rhett und dem Rest der Charleston Leute h?ren, aber ich bin verdammt, wenn
kommen auf ? Wir couldn'tget bald Kate Spade Outlet zu Hause genug. Ich w¨¹rde eher auf einen Haufen als Krieg nach Europa zu gehen. "" barbour jackets Also w¨¹rde ich, jeden Tag . ... Schauen Sie, Brent ! Ich wei?, wo wir zum coach factory outlet
Glauben SIE , dass. DURCH this Weise k ? Nnen SIE Erwarten Wunder geschehen und Website- barbour outlet your Unter den Top - Suchergebnissen der Suchmaschinen seins ? Nat¨¹rlich Nicht . Your Webseite sollte chanel outlet
sch ? Nsten gestalteten Outfit , Das bin Besten zu IHNEN passt tragen , Ist es Louis Vuitton mehr WEGEN ihrer popularIt t in BEZUG Markt auf your F ? Higkeiten und Handlungen . coach outlet SIE sollten Nicht zu
gesch?lt , bis wir sie aus. Alles, was sie werden wissen, ¨¹ber louis vuitton die ballsshe ging...
Melvin Olivencia  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-09 11:18:30
My brother recommended I might like this blog. He was totally right. This post truly made my day. You cann't imagine simply how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!
Renaldo Banta  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-10 04:01:24
I was studying some of your blog posts on this website and I conceive this website is real instructive! Retain posting .
Denise Egley  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-11 13:18:36
you're truly a good webmaster. The site loading velocity is amazing. It seems that you're doing any unique trick. Furthermore, The contents are masterpiece. you've performed a magnificent job on this topic!
Shirley Wash  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-11 13:44:00
Thank you for sharing excellent informations. Your site is so cool. I'm impressed by the details that you've on this website. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this website page, will come back for more articles. You, my friend, ROCK! I found just the information I already searched all over the place and simply couldn't come across. What a perfect web site.
Rochel Mottern  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-12 10:44:11
great points altogether, you simply received a new reader. What could you suggest about your publish that you simply made some days ago? Any certain?
Barney Mastrocola  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-14 10:37:46
A person necessarily help to make critically posts I'd state. That is the very first time I frequented your website page and to this point? I surprised with the analysis you made to create this actual post amazing. Fantastic activity!
improve your credit score  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-15 03:26:32
I like this web site very much, Its a real nice billet to read and get information. "The absence of war is not peace." by Harry S Truman.
Antwan Gurevich  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-15 05:16:42
What i don't understood is in reality how you're no longer really a lot more well-preferred than you might be right now. You are so intelligent. You understand thus significantly in the case of this matter, made me in my view believe it from a lot of varied angles. Its like women and men are not fascinated until it's something to do with Woman gaga! Your personal stuffs outstanding. Always handle it up!
disputing credit report  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-16 13:42:12
Appreciate it for all your efforts that you have put in this. very interesting info . "If we don't believe in freedom of expression for people we despise, we don't believe in it at all." by Virginia.
credit report dispute  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-17 00:52:03
Thankyou for all your efforts that you have put in this. very interesting information. "Names are changed more readily than doctrines, and doctrines more readily than ceremonies." by Thomas Love Peacock.
Ashley Cisar  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-17 19:13:38
I like what you guys are up also. Such clever work and reporting! Carry on the superb works guys I
Maxwell Bessmer  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-18 15:59:55
You have brought up a very wonderful points , appreciate it for the post.
cmoutlet  - dezreg |2014-07-19 01:27:05
Based Scheme nike air max to Make nike air max Personal Digests jordan retro from toms shoes Video soccer jerseys Program Meta DataContent longchamps providers coach bags have recently ghd hair started adding a montblanc variety of meta oakley data ferragamo outlet to various video programs; these louis vuitton data provide primitive reebok skyscape descriptors ray ban sunglasses of the p90x workout video rayban contents. lululemon canada Personal michael kors outlet digest viewing bottega veneta that tiffany's uses ralph lauren pas cher the gucci meta data is a vans pas cher new louboutin application burberry outlet online in the digital broadcasting era. nike air max To jerseys build new balance shoes personal hogan digests, longchamp handbags semantic tory burch outlet program structures chi hair must supra for sale be constructed and significant louis vuitton scenes must mcm bags be identified. jimmy choo Digests nike uk are coach factory currently lululemon outlet made ray ban ...
top credit repair  - 2312 interviews & reviews II - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-22 14:17:19
Spot on with this write-up, I really feel this site needs far more attention. I
Last Updated on Sunday, 03 June 2012 21:15
 
spacer.png, 0 kB
spacer.png, 0 kB