spacer.png, 0 kB
HOME
MANGALAWIKI
FORUM
2312 interviews & reviews IV PDF Print E-mail
Written by Kimon   
Monday, 09 July 2012 19:47

Kim Stanley Robinson, like last year, is participating in the Clarion Write-a-thon!

What is a write-a-thon, anyway? It’s just like a walk-a-thon. But instead of walking, we’re writing, and instead of making pledges per mile, we’re making pledges per word, chapter, or story. Writers get support, encouragement and motivation, and the option of joining a team with a writing mentor! Those who care about the writers in their life get a way to show their support. And money is raised for a literally fantastic cause — the Clarion Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers’ Workshop.

Pictured below: a Mars trilogy-inspired mosaic by the awesome Da Vinci Mars Design! A much higher resolution is available there.

Another wave of 2312 material!

First, the interviews:

Once more, Kim Stanley Robinson was interviewed by Rick Kleffel of the Agony Column, at Stan's appearance at the Capitola Book Café on June 16 (direct mp3 link). Very entertaining and informative!

Stan was also interviewed by Wired's Geek Guide to the Galaxy (direct mp3 link). At their site you can also read a transcript of the whole thing. Lots of topics are touched upon: the Mondragon Accord, Jimmy Carter in Nepal, whistling Beethoven, the technological singularity, science fiction history, science fiction novels references in 2312, ...

Stan was also interviewed by Far Beyond Reality, in text form. A soundtrack for 2312?

All of these might work as a kind of soundtrack for a reading of 2312, as they often served as soundtrack for writing it.  In particular I guess I would recommend the fourth symphonies of Brahms and Tchaikovski, and the late string quartets of Beethoven, and Satyagraha.

 


 

And the reviews:

One of the very best reviews I've read comes from Gerry Canavan, writing for the Los Angeles Review of Books:

The wonderfully inventive 2312 is, in this way, Robinson’s most aesthetically reverent work to date. Science, engineering, history, politics, philosophy, parenting, love — in this novel all are reimagined as essentially artistic practices, as the sorts of ecstatic creative pursuits people might devote themselves to once liberated from the drudgery capitalism inflicts on us. It might, therefore, be Robinson’s most nakedly utopian novel, his most ambitious attempt to show us just how good life after capitalism could be. Finally: a time for play.

But at the same time, 2312 could be Robinson’s least utopian novel — beginning, as it does, from the rejection of the “Mars Trilogy”’s happier historical trajectory in favor of a world(s)-system in which the ongoing historical struggle between the residual (feudalism), the dominant (capitalism), and the emergent (none dare call it communism) never crests, but just goes horribly on and on and on. Indeed, there is a suggestion late in the novel as pessimistic and unhappy as any I can recall Robinson making: that perhaps some people are just bad, that (worse still) perhaps true evil will only exist after scarcity.

An interesting though odd review comes from Strange Horizons; it's actually more of a critique of the pro-technology ideas underlying Robinson's approach to the future:

So much of Robinson's playfulness with the broad canvas of the solar system reminds me of a remark made by J. Robert Oppenheimer about the US building of the H-bomb—i.e., that it was "so technically sweet" that it could not be foresworn. So, as a political ecologist, I mourn for the domineering technological command over the planets and the moons envisaged by this fictionally realized blueprint of the cosmos. [...] Perhaps Robinson's book may yet inspire another SF writer to think beyond the technological sublime into other realms and other plausible futures more firmly grounded in the ecological imagination and our corporeal existence and recognize that in that imagined paradisal future, et in Arcadia ego.

Jeff VanderMeer for the Los Angeles Times ("Perhaps Robinson's finest novel, "2312" is a treasured gift to fans of passionate storytelling; readers will be with Swan and Wahram in the tunnel long after reaching the last page.") and Rick Kleffel are massively supportive of the novel

 

The Canberra Times/Sydney Morning Herald place 2312 in the context of the science fiction genre:

This particular vision of the future - an environmental catastrophe on Earth, followed by a rapid and transformative expansion into the solar system - is common to much contemporary science fiction. And while Robinson's version is perhaps less plausible (and certainly less densely imagined) than that explored in Paul McAuley's stunning The Quiet War series, or Alastair Reynolds's recent Blue Remembered Earth, it nonetheless presents a future that is in turn awe-inspiring, unsettling and challenging, not least in its preparedness to demand that the reader thinks seriously about the possibilities of using technology to make other planets habitable by humans. [...] These are not small criticisms, nor is it coincidental that they are criticisms that might also be made of sci-fi's golden-age writers such as Robert Heinlein and Isaac Asimov, both of whom shared Robinson's belief in the transformative nature of scientific rationality. Yet nor do they detract significantly from 2312's real achievements, in particular its power as a reminder not just of the possibilities of science, but of sci-fi's importance in opening our minds to those possibilities.

Comments
Add New Search
+/-
Write comment
Name:
Email:
 
Website:
Title:
UBBCode:
[b] [i] [u] [url] [quote] [code] [img] 
 
 
:D:):(:0:shock::confused:8):lol::x:P:oops::cry:
:evil::twisted::roll::wink::!::?::idea::arrow:
 
Please input the anti-spam code that you can read in the image.
yingzijun  - http://www.louisvuittonoutlet-high.com |2014-03-11 06:55:59
supra footwear
ray ban
Celine Outlet Store
louis vuitton outlet
christian louboutin sale
true religion
timberland earthkeepers
celine outlet
tiffany
fendi bags
gucci handbags
ray ban sunglasses
air jordan 4
nike shoes
true religion jeans
red buttom shoes
prada
louis vuitton
dior handbags
ghd hair iron
ralph lauren outlet
ghd hair iron
oakley sunglasses outlet
hollister clothing
true religion
monster headphones
belstaff jackets
tory burch
fendi outlet
prada handbags
ghd flat iron
tiffany jewelry
timberland
coach store online
canada goose jackets
alexander wang
givenchy handbags
dolce gabbana
true religion jeans
prada handbags
north face outlet
abercrombie & fitch outlet
nfl football jerseys
jimmy choo outlet
true religion
goose outlet
insanity
barbour clothing
louis vuitton handbags
cheap nfl jerseys
belstaff clothing
ray ban
ghd hair iron
abercrombie and fitch
celine outlet
air jordan
jimmy choo sale
abercrombie & fitch outlet
p90x workout
ugg boots
versace shirts
MontBlanc Pens
mic...
gfndddd  - kate spade handbags |2014-04-26 05:04:40
beats by dr dre
kate spade outlet
michael kors handbags
p90x workout
nike free
louis vuitton
michael kors factory outlet
oakley sunglasses
jordan 9
coach purses
louis vuitton outlet
cheap jordans shoes
turbo fire workout
hermes belts
nike outlet
gucci handbags
coach outlet
true religion
dior handbags
ugg boots
fitflop shoes
hermes birkin
hollister clothing
kate spade
gucci shoes
tory burch outlet
hogan shoes
burberry outlet
marc jacobs
jordan shoes
abercrombie & fitch
coach outlet store online
kate spade handbags
coach outlet
cheap nfl jersyes
michael kors outlet
nike free run
ray ban
oakley sunglasses
ralph lauren
tiffany and co
gucci outlet
cheap jordans
ferragamo shoes
tory burch shoes
cheap jerseys
coach factory
toms shoes
michael kors outlet
ray ban sunglasses
michael kors watches
coach outlet store online
fitflop shoes
the north face
miu miu
coach factory outlet
tory burch outlet
hermes birkin bag
gucci outlet
coach outlet
spyder jackets
michael kors outlet
michael kors outlet
michael ko...
Hermina Beaudreau  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-05-07 12:27:19
Thanks Mark, glad you uncovered it useful. :)
Yanira Kelzer  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-05-30 11:45:16
Superior website I discovered info extremely informative. I come here every one of the time and they often deliver excellent articles!
Ryan Wolden  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-05-30 13:43:58
It isn't always very easy to continue to be positive, but encompassing myself with excellent mates and also a suportive loved ones constantly makes it easier. I remind myself constantly that every day is really a present, and we are privileged to get up every single early morning and acquire aspect in it...
Eleonor Wentland  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-05-30 13:55:16
A Winnebago with a little car in tow.
Kary Macken  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-05-30 16:11:27
Anne, we will investigate!
Wilhemina Bushey  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-03 09:23:07
Good write-up, I
Karon Hicks  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-03 11:02:22
I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here. The sketch is attractive, your authored subject matter stylish. nonetheless, you command get bought an edginess over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come further formerly again as exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this increase.
Flor Krzyston  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-03 15:34:47
The subsequent time I read a blog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as a lot as this one. I imply, I know it was my option to learn, but I actually thought youd have one thing attention-grabbing to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about one thing that you possibly can fix should you werent too busy on the lookout for attention.
Joaquina Garringer  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-03 21:30:50
Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with some pics to drive the message home a bit, but instead of that, this is excellent blog. A fantastic read. I will definitely be back.
English Language  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-04 17:59:07
I gotta favorite this internet site it seems very helpful invaluable
iPhone 4 IMEI Unlock  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-06 09:50:21
If only I'd discovered this page earlier, thank you very much for sharing this. Considering the topic covered, you have done a very good job of making this informative, while very interesting to read - excellent job, well done! I like to try and learn something everyday, and this page most definitely enlightened me. As my old father used to say "a day gone without learning anything is a wasted day!". I learned plenty from this webpage, thanks. If it's OK with you, I'd like to stick a link to your site from Twitter, is that fine?
Kendrick Gillian  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-06 19:03:26
I'd personally personally favor Google. Both FB and Google would benefit from it, but we would probably benefit more from Google taking it over. In the case of Google+ it is just a matter of time. Facebook was lucky it didn't seriously really need to compete with something as "good" as facebook, the competition was just lacking a lot of features and also a global approach.Google+ is superior to Facebook, but it really has a bigger challenge to receive popular.Just look at VHS and Betamax. Betamax was better but lost due to bad marketing/licensing.Danny recently posted..Black & Decker NPP2018 18-Volt Cordless Electric Pole Chain Saw
Gonzalo Beattle  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-07 20:13:29
I was just searching for this info for a while. After 6 hours of continuous Googleing, finally I got it in your site. I wonder what's the lack of Google strategy that don't rank this type of informative web sites in top of the list. Normally the top websites are full of garbage.
Francis Glawe  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-07 21:11:26
You made several fine points there. I did a search on the subject and found the majority of people will consent with your blog.
Home Furniture  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-08 05:26:51
Hi, Neat post. There is an issue along with your site in web explorer, might test this
Real Estate Websites  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-10 04:25:41
I am really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it
Real Estate For Sale  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-10 09:24:45
Utterly pent content material, Really enjoyed reading through.
sfdgssfgbs  - tory burch outlet |2014-06-11 08:56:22
coach factory
cheap oakley
louis vuitton
michael kors
oakley sunglasses
coach factory outlet
christian louboutin outlet
belstaff jackets
kate spade outlet
alexander wang
p90x workouts
gucci shoes
toms outlet
oakley sunglasses outlet
cheap oakley
celine outlet
coach factory outlet
cheap ray ban sunglasses
oakley sunglasses
polo ralph lauren
cheap jordans shoes
coach factory
coach factory outlet online
bottega veneta
coach factory outlet
louis vuitton handbags
jordan retro 11
cheap oakleys
michael kors factory outlet
michael kors outlet
tory burch shoes
louis vuitton outlet
coach factory outlet online
oakley sunglasses outlet
cheap jordans
coach factory outlet online
red bottom shoes
ray ban sunglasses
louis vuitton outlet
cheap oakleys
coach outlet
tiffany and co
coach outlet
insanity workouts
louis vuitton outlet online
barbour outlet
coach purses
nike outlet
fitflop shoes
coach factory outlet
chanel outlet
louis vuitton
cheap jordan shoes
burberry outlet
hermes birkin
nike free run
cheap jersey...
website seo  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-11 21:25:56
You should take part in a contest for one of the best blogs on the web. I will recommend this site!
Bridesmaid Dresses  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-14 10:42:00
I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I
Loreen Pelzer  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-14 16:47:57
Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification appeared to be on the internet the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get irked while people think about worries that they just do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks
Scottie Traunfeld  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-15 04:26:29
Adore these a good deal! Thanks. Edwina Brown
Tarah Burkdoll  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-17 23:04:54
An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not enough to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers
Bedemand Jerslev  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-17 23:39:18
I surely come back at a nother time an get an update on your website.
Billig Bis  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-18 10:48:53
Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it's really informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels. I?ll appreciate if you continue this in future.
Numbers Higney  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-26 02:51:57
Hey Eric. Thanks for including my PSD templates. :)
credit repair companies  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-01 03:44:52
I really like your writing style, great info, appreciate it for posting :D. "The superfluous is very necessary." by Francois Marie Arouet Voltaire.
Prints among Men  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-02 07:16:11
Merely wanna input on few general things, The website design is perfect, the subject material is very good : D.
Chanel Outlet  - Chanel Outlet |2014-07-02 09:36:46
and I followed. "Go get some bread!" James called. Alizon began to go east, up the hill LV outlet and past the tall trees behind Coach Outlet Malkin Tower.Alizon walked quickly. She was kate spade bags
listen to them. Kingslayer with her, Louis vuitton Outlet andif Lord Tywin as he had smashed RhaegarTargaryen to Trident and then Cersei, would fall, would break him, Robert barbour outlet arouse courage
Nightingale, of Redwynes, brindled boar, red cow, the shining field of Bryce Caron burning tree, white rum, triple spiral, purple Kate Spade New York unicorn, dance Maiden, of Blackadder,
ground. Kate Spade Outlet His face was dark and his Louis Vuitton Handbags hairfell in his eyes down and Chanel Outlet Online anger. The sword of "I, the Louis Vuitton Bags boy ran it to him", and Coach outlet online he cried to his retinue. not coach outlet store only by thenhis
't.Edmund Edmund Robinson coach outlet online store will tomorrow in London with her mi...
Pictures of Lilli  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-02 16:57:21
I enjoy your writing style genuinely loving this internet site .
Andrew Pelt  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-03 18:50:13
Hey, you used to write magnificent, but the last several posts have been kinda boring
Tyson F. Gautreaux  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-04 14:20:20
I do consider all of the concepts you have introduced to your post. They're really convincing and will definitely work. Nonetheless, the posts are very quick for novices. May just you please prolong them a bit from subsequent time? Thanks for the post.
Chanel Bags |2014-07-05 01:13:29
Ssigkeit ihrer Systeme asist . Vor dem Kauf des Systems, Agentur f¨¹r Eine Demo zu Stellen Kate Spade Outlet und sorgf ? Ltig zu pr¨¹fen , eine H?hle FUNKTIONEN . Bei der Suche Nach chanel outlet Einem Anbieter , Stellen Sicher
als Einer gebrandmarkt Werden . Auch Immer gut mit Anderen Kate Spade verbessert available your Chancen , wahrgenommen und f¨¹r your trendigen Outfits gesch ? Tzt . coach factory outlet Eine Modus - Ikone IST eigentlich Ein
auftreten . Nun IST es Zeit , Ihr barbour outlet unternehmen mit Einem effizienten POS -Systems zu verbessern . Auch Das Beste -System zu identifizieren Louis Vuitton und starten your Venture in Den Gesch?fts -Bereich
schreiben Dienst von H?hle Die Freien Autoren kate spade outlet oder Firmen Online in anspruch nehmen . SIE k ? Nnen IHNEN Coach Outlet mit einzigartigen Inhalten barbour jacket , sterben Nach Empfehlung: Ihren kriterien Innerhalb von Ein
Machen und Haben Eine inspirierende Pers ? Nlichkeit , so dass. sterben Men...
Joshua Thelin  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-08 03:01:37
Thanks a lot for the post.Really looking forward to read more. Awesome.
Tyson F. Gautreaux  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-08 06:30:24
Wohh precisely what I was looking for, regards for putting up.
Luvenia Berryman  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-09 05:08:04
you are truly a just right webmaster. The website loading pace is amazing. It seems that you are doing any unique trick. Also, The contents are masterwork. you have performed a excellent process on this topic!
Samuel Tarbet  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-10 00:21:36
Excellent blog here! Also your website loads up fast! What host are you using? Can I get your affiliate link to your host? I wish my website loaded up as fast as yours lol
Deidra Desnoyers  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-11 16:12:10
Wow! This could be one particular of the most useful blogs We've ever arrive across on this subject. Basically Magnificent. I am also a specialist in this topic therefore I can understand your effort.
Son Delusia  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-12 12:36:05
Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it. Look advanced to more added agreeable from you! However, how can we communicate?
Kasey Calvano  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-12 14:16:06
I simply could not leave your web site prior to suggesting that I really loved the standard information a person provide to your visitors? Is gonna be again frequently to check out new posts.
improve credit score  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-15 03:10:37
Perfectly written written content, appreciate it for entropy. "You can do very little with faith, but you can do nothing without it." by Samuel Butler.
Joan Wisor  - 2312 interviews & reviews IV - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-15 05:16:22
What i do not realize is actually how you're no longer actually much more well-preferred than you may be now. You're so intelligent. You already know thus considerably in relation to this subject, produced me personally believe it from a lot of numerous angles. Its like women and men don't seem to be interested unless it is something to do with Lady gaga! Your personal stuffs great. At all times care for it up!
Last Updated on Monday, 09 July 2012 20:27
 
spacer.png, 0 kB
spacer.png, 0 kB