spacer.png, 0 kB
HOME
MANGALAWIKI
FORUM
2312 interviews & reviews VI PDF Print E-mail
Written by Kimon   
Tuesday, 04 December 2012 21:32

Developing themes touched upon in his Science In The Capital trilogy and 2312, Kim Stanley Robinson wrote an article for the onearth online magazine, "Earth: Under Repair Forever", dealing with...terraforming of Terra! i.e. geoengineering.

For the rest of history, we will be required to work at repairing the damage we've already done to the biosphere. Geoengineering, then, has become our ongoing responsibility to life on this planet, including all human generations to come. All of which leads to the question: can we actually design and accomplish any geoengineering projects that would mitigate or reverse climate change? Putting aside issues of political capability, are any of these projects physically possible?

Stan was even more strong on his choice of words when he visited the Mount Shasta Library recently. One of Stan's short stories is called "Muir on Shasta" (it appears in "Remaking History" and "The Best Of Kim Stanley Robinson"). He spoke on various subjects:

In response to a question on GMOs, Robinson said that an extended family member had developed a new strain of rice. “Global warming has meant the monsoons are much greater than before,” Robinson said. “The rice can survive under water for two months instead of two weeks. I think that’s good.” Robinson acknowledged that when scientists from the companies that produce foods with GMOs say it is safe, they are greeted with suspicion. “When you are mad at science, you are really mad at capitalism,” Robinson said. “The danger is when it becomes private for profit, like a Monsanto. The world should be a public utility. We should have public source genetic engineering.”

UK literary magazine Structo also featured Stan with an interview in its #8. Released in July 2012, it is now available online to read here. The interview, focusing on 2312 but not exclusively, is very enjoyable!

Stan was also extensively featured on literature journal Puerto del Sol, v.47 #2, an issue dedicated to "Utopias!" featuring original poetry and prose, reviews and a roundtable Q&A. The issue can be ordered from the magazine's website, however the KSR-related material is also available as pdfs:

A roundtable Q&A with authors Jacqueline Dutton, Daniel Heath Justice, Kim Stanley Robinson and Lorenzo Veracini.

If I understand the term, settler colonialism describes my own situation as a person of European ancestry living in California, and so I suppose it has an impact on me implicitly, as I, like so many others, have to consider what it means “to become native to this place,” as Wes Jackson named the project. In my case, the central valley of California is now my home. It’s important to remember how it was here before the Europeans arrived—”the Serengeti of North America” as it has been called—and what it is now, a space of industrial agriculture, with a manipulated water system and greatly altered ecosystems.

And an in-depth review of 2312 by Joe Epstein:

The hospitable world seems endless to our intuition—why else would so many dismiss climate change flatly?—yet our home is only a gossamer sheet on Earth’s surface, and even there only under specific conditions, and virtually the entire rest of the universe is unlivable without improbable technological feats. On a cosmic scale, our civilization is as fragile as the biofilm in a shower drain. Robinson manages, with Terminator, to convey awe at the fact that anything should exist in the first place, and the pleasure of exploration for its own sake.

In addition to his thorough stage setting, Robinson continues to celebrate—more than most sci-fi authors—the actual humanity of his characters.

One doesn’t have to work very hard to see the present in 2312, with half the world impoverished, the disparity between those with personal aircraft and those who dig their toilets unyielding, and so many denying we can ruin things for ourselves, even as libraries of evidence mount to the contrary.

Ultimately, 2312 is an update, a continuation, and a condensation of Robinson’s themes: the importance of sustainability and stewardship; the sheer difficulty of any space activity, an incredible challenge still not sufficient to dissuade human ingenuity; and the joy of mindful experience at all, of being a person who can feel, think, wonder, and love. Consider how often Robinson’s characters, almost all inhabitants of futuristic science fiction, adjourn for coffee and pastries, or head to cook, dine, and clean at a communal kitchen, or relax by hiking, examining flowers, spotting birds. Robinson centers aggressive, progressive sci-fi stories, covering incomprehensible distances, on humans doing human things. In this way, Robinson is among the most humane of writers.

Speaking of reviews, Bookbag on 2312.

The thoughts above on the fragile nature of our ecosystem and its small size compared to the enormity of the universe is referenced in an article in Nature as well, where Stan discusses the ever-growing list of exoplanets that have been discovered:

The stars exist beyond human time, beyond human reach. We live in the little pearl of warmth surrounding our star; outside it lies a vastness beyond comprehension. The solar system is our one and only home.”

(Pictured above: illustration for Structo #8)

Comments
Add New Search
+/-
Write comment
Name:
Email:
 
Website:
Title:
UBBCode:
[b] [i] [u] [url] [quote] [code] [img] 
 
 
:D:):(:0:shock::confused:8):lol::x:P:oops::cry:
:evil::twisted::roll::wink::!::?::idea::arrow:
 
Please input the anti-spam code that you can read in the image.
gfndddd  - kate spade handbags |2014-04-26 05:26:50
beats by dr dre
kate spade outlet
michael kors handbags
p90x workout
nike free
louis vuitton
michael kors factory outlet
oakley sunglasses
jordan 9
coach purses
louis vuitton outlet
cheap jordans shoes
turbo fire workout
hermes belts
nike outlet
gucci handbags
coach outlet
true religion
dior handbags
ugg boots
fitflop shoes
hermes birkin
hollister clothing
kate spade
gucci shoes
tory burch outlet
hogan shoes
burberry outlet
marc jacobs
jordan shoes
abercrombie & fitch
coach outlet store online
kate spade handbags
coach outlet
cheap nfl jersyes
michael kors outlet
nike free run
ray ban
oakley sunglasses
ralph lauren
tiffany and co
gucci outlet
cheap jordans
ferragamo shoes
tory burch shoes
cheap jerseys
coach factory
toms shoes
michael kors outlet
ray ban sunglasses
michael kors watches
coach outlet store online
fitflop shoes
the north face
miu miu
coach factory outlet
tory burch outlet
hermes birkin bag
gucci outlet
coach outlet
spyder jackets
michael kors outlet
michael kors outlet
michael ko...
Laronda Skillern  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-05-07 17:47:46
A terrific time Saturday night. We surprised my parents and they were thriled when they got there..Thank you! I used to be instructed by the photo booth person that pics would be online. Where are they?
Deshawn Vejar  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-04 15:08:29
I've noticed that credit restoration activity will need to be conducted with techniques. If not, you could find yourself endangering your rank. In order to realize your aspirations in fixing your credit rating you have to confirm that from this moment in time you pay all within your monthly dues promptly in advance of their planned date. It is significant on the grounds that by not accomplishing that, all other steps that you can decide to try to improve your credit positioning will not be effective. Many thanks for expressing your ideas.
Henry Police  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-06 23:01:47
Just because they call it advanced doesn't mean it is.
Frederick Heimsoth  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-18 10:29:16
WOW! Are you gonna bring it towards the track? I am seeking forward to meeting you and learning all about your racer. See you within a few weeks!
Bedemand Slagelse  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-23 11:44:56
Hello there, You've done an incredible job. I?ll definitely digg it and personally suggest to my friends. I am confident they'll be benefited from this web site.
Billige blomster  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-23 19:19:31
I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently. I'm quite sure I?ll learn many new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!
affordable seo services  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-24 06:29:58
I like this website because so much utile material on here : D.
Hipolito M. Wiseman  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-24 22:11:13
Excellent read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing a little research on that. And he just bought me lunch because I found it for him smile Thus let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch!
Ramiro Kassay  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-27 21:50:54
Good web site! I truly love how it is easy on my eyes and the data are well written. I'm wondering how I might be notified whenever a new post has been made. I've subscribed to your RSS which must do the trick! Have a great day!
Affordable SEO  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-28 18:10:45
Excellent web site. Lots of useful info here. I am sending it to several pals ans also sharing in delicious. And obviously, thank you to your effort!
Affordable SEO  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-28 18:42:24
I conceive other website proprietors should take this site as an example , very clean and fantastic user friendly design .
Verla Hartle  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-29 06:13:55
I truly appreciate this blog article.Much thanks again. Cool.
Art 4 art's sake!  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-29 06:56:21
I like this website very much, Its a very nice situation to read and obtain information.
We wuz framed!  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-29 07:27:38
fantastic put up, very informative. I wonder why the other specialists of this sector do not notice this. You must proceed your writing. I'm confident, you have a great readers' base already!
Regine Baumiester  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-29 08:20:36
assos sales
Erica Riddell  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-29 13:55:50
assos shorts women review
Mitch Maerz  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-29 18:28:36
I cannot thank you enough for the article.Thanks Again. Really Cool.
John Maynard Keynes  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-30 12:02:52
I really prize your work , Great post.
Andrew A. Sailer  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-30 19:31:38
I think this is among the most important information for me. And i am glad reading your article. But wanna remark on few general things, The web site style is great, the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers
Carroll B. Merriman  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-30 19:59:04
great issues altogether, you simply gained a new reader. What may you recommend about your publish that you just made some days ago? Any sure?
Carlton Deshaies  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-30 20:47:00
data mining in hospital industry
Joey Ripke  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-06-30 21:45:43
pros and cons of data mining in healthcare
Tyson F. Gautreaux  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-01 09:11:11
I really like your writing style, wonderful information, thankyou for posting : D.
Lita Rukavina  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-01 09:42:35
Hello, Neat post. There is a problem together with your web site in internet explorer, may test this
Gregory Despain  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-01 10:49:23
Thanks for all of your labor on this website. Debby take interest in conducting research and it is easy to see why. Most people know all of the compelling ways you make good techniques via your website and therefore recommend contribution from the others on this subject matter so our favorite child is really discovering a great deal. Enjoy the rest of the year. You have been doing a wonderful job.
Agatha Huft  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-01 13:47:02
It's an honor to possess the free chemistry world magazine app.
Buck Salzl  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-01 14:41:37
Just wish to say your article is as astonishing. The clearness in your post is simply excellent and i could assume you're an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the gratifying work.
Nanny Agency  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-01 18:32:45
Excellent blog here! Also your web site loads up very fast! What host are you using? Can I get your affiliate link to your host? I wish my website loaded up as quickly as yours lol
Chanel Outlet  - Chanel Outlet |2014-07-02 09:37:00
someone else. We, "I should keep them running all day!" "Ned asked him. Boys" These, "Lannisters?" Wiped Louis Vuitton Outlet the tears from his eyes, Robert nodded. michael kors bags online sale One of the. Thedead
thing sons of Michael Kors Outlet Store brother "cousin. Lord Tywin. Or, you can coach outlet try to think of it, I do Kate Spade Bags not remember live one, is. Me now. Louis vuitton outlet My wife large to take into account Louis Vuitton Handbags very
Beer, because it bites the strong katespade.com eye, had a thickness and black. LV Bags Robert sat down again. Damn the Ned Stark you, ". Jon Arryn with you, Louis Vuitton Bag I used to love both of you. Chanel Outlet Online
NED, was going to follow when the louis vuitton luggage king is called again. Not "you, Ned." Louis Vuitton Sunglasses Ned turned back. It is the Kate Spade Ned, filled it with beer from the coach.com barrel in the corner you pick up coac...
Kellye Synder  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-04 09:37:41
Im grateful for the blog article.Thanks Again. Want more.
Loma Twedell  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-04 20:24:29
Very good blog post.Much thanks again. Cool.
Chanel Bags |2014-07-05 01:13:29
Begreifen , Findet bereitzustellen . Die meisten der Websites Entwerfen Eine sch ? Ne und? Sthetisch Ansprechende Webseite und filling SIE sterben erforderlichen Informationen in es . Aber
-Sterne- Chanel Outlet , Film -Figuren und Pop -S ? Ngerin , sterben musikalische Alben zu ERSTELLEN Wie kate spade outlet our Modus - Ikone AUSSEHEN barbour jackets . War available Immer SIE IN IHREN Theater Sport kahl verbreiten Modus
erz?hlt 'de Nigger mir, sie ist de wustest kochen im Staat . " " Guter Gott ! Warum gehen sie nicht Louis Vuitton ein weiteres Koch kaufen? " " Huccome po ' w'ite M¨¹ll kaufen keine Nigger ? kate spade outlet Dey ain bei de
sollte klug Genug zu mischen und anzupassen Waden Kost¨¹me und vermeiden coach factory outlet , sterben Gleichen Kost¨¹me Alltag , INDEM SIE Eine Notiz von dm, war er tr Louis Vuitton ? Gt jeden tag . Die Modus - Ikone sollte Sich
(sind), er sieht immer barbour outlet zu Tode erschrocken . Sie erinnert mich an einem m...
Manual Brogdon  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-06 06:51:59
"Say, you got a nice blog article.Much thanks again. Awesome."
Florencia Pehler  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-06 13:27:35
Im obliged for the article.Much thanks again.
Deonna Gollogly  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-09 02:13:18
I value the blog article.Really looking forward to read more. Will read on...
Proprium Marketing  - 2312 interviews & reviews VI - KimStanleyRobin |2014-07-13 17:53:34
Outstanding post, you have pointed out some good details , I besides believe this s a very fantastic website.
 
spacer.png, 0 kB
spacer.png, 0 kB